LCI Design Award

Call for Entries

Deadline: June 30, 2022

The LCI Design Award recognizes delivering outstanding design while advancing the industry through collaborative Lean project delivery. The purpose of this award is to encourage Lean in Design and recognize the architects, engineers, designers, clients, and constructors who work together to improve the design and construction process and produce design excellence in the built environment.

Nominees may come from any profession; but must include the design team.  Any LCI member, group of members, or community may nominate projects on behalf of the design team.  Projects substantially completed after Jan 1, 2019 are eligible.  Projects must be completed and built.  There is no limit to the number of projects that may be entered by a firm, and all materials included in the submission must be cleared for public reproduction.  Entries must be submitted by the lead design firm. If the lead design firm is not an LCI member, entries can be co-submitted with a team member who is an LCI member.   Submissions must have approval of the client and must credit all members of the design and construction team. 

The winners of the 2022 LCI Design Award will be notified prior to the 2022 LCI Congress in New Orleans, Louisiana in October.  Award winners will be announced and the award presented at the Award Ceremony on October 20, 2022. Nominators are requested to notify their client and project team that the project will be receiving an award, and are encouraged to invite them to Congress awards celebration. 

Evaluation Process
Submissions will be evaluated by a jury. Weighting will be determined in the following manner: 50% design aesthetic; 50% on how Lean tenets were used in the process to obtain the final project. 

LCI is pleased to acknowledge the 2022 LCI Design Award planning team for helping us create this award program as a benefit to the design and construction industry:

Bernita Beikmann, HKS, Inc.; Stan Chiu, Gensler; Romano Nickerson, Boulder Associates; Neelanjana Sen, HGA Architects and Engineers; Andrea Sponsel, HKS, Inc.; Steve Wilson, HMC Architects  

Submission Details
The LCI Design Award will be open for submissions on May 4, 2022.  Submissions must be received by midnight PT on June 30, 2022.

  1. Submit through the form below.
  2. Supporting Documentation:
    Include supporting documentation (images, diagrams, any additional text if required) in a single pdf, max 10MB, not to exceed ten (10) 11x17 inch pages. Text is limited to labeling the images. Consider including process imagery that showcases how you use Lean on the project as well as showcase the finished design aesthetic. Avoid including company logos on imagery.

  3. Email Joan Piccariella with any questions on the submission process.

Submit Today

Below are the recipients of the 2021 LCI Design Awards:

LCI Design Award Winners

Dr. Anne Anderson High School
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Owner: Edmonton School
Design Firm: BR2 Architecture w/AODBT Architecture & Interior Design
General Contractor: Clark Builders

Pleasant Prairie Medical Center
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Owner: Advocate Aurora Health
Design Firm: HGA
General Contractor:  The Boldt Company


LCI Design Award Honorable Mentions

Salt River Project, Chandler, Arizona
Owner: Salt River Project
Design Firm: Corgan
GC:  Mortenson

The Sutter Natomas Family Practice Tenant Improvement , Sacramento, California
Owner: Sutter Health
Design Firm: Boulder Associates
GC: Deacon Construction, Mark III Construction

Learn more about the Design Award Winners.