LCI Update

November 5, 2015

Sustaining Sponsors

Autodesk


Words of Wisdom

From: Transforming Design and Construction: A Framework for Change, LCI, 2015, p. 217. Work structuring can be described as a path taken from chaotic work to optimized work. It involves implementation of a number of strategies and tools, including defining standard processes, working to optimize those processes, and seeking one-piece flow while employing tools such as mistake-proofing and built-in quality. The construction industry must work to eliminate the celebration of heroic behavior—taking on a nearly impossible task and putting the project at risk—by taking a step back and being more intentional about work structuring.

 

LCI Welcomes Our New Member!

Learn More Here

 

Upcoming Events

November 10th
WEBINAR - Last Planner System™: Why Should Owners Care?

November 11th
3rd Annual Owner’s Panel – IPD and Lean Construction from an Owner's Perspective
(Los Angeles CoP)

November 11th
Implementation of Lean Safety on the Jobsite
(Northern California CoP)

November 12th
Pull Planning with the Villego® Simulation
(Chicago CoP)

November 12th
Watson Electric Prefabrication Plant Tour
(Carolinas CoP)

November 13th
The True Meaning of Lean in BIM
(National Capital Region CoP)

November 17th
"Launching an Integrated Delivery Project"
(Alabama CoP)

November 18th
A Lean Coffee
(Kansas City CoP)

November 18th
Intel's Construction Revolution
(Arizona CoP)

November 19th
Lean Adoption by Trade Contractors: What's in it for Us?
(New York CoP)

December 17th
WEBINAR- A Lean Coach's Analysis of Last Planner® Successes and Failures, with Dan Fauchier

 

View all events

 

Canadian Lean Construction Institute Status Outlined in Media Piece

See this recent media coverage in the Daily Commercial News of Canada for an overview of what is happening north of the border as our Canadians colleagues work to develop their own national LCI organization. LCI-Canada continues lean groundwork Canada was well represented at the annual Congress this year as well, including some of those quoted in the article.

LCI Journal Gains SCOPUS Acceptance

Congratulation to our long-time editor and academic advisor, Tariq Abdelhamid of Michigan State University, who has succeeded in his long-time quest to gain acceptance for our annual journal by SCOPUS. (SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.) This is a particularly important milestone for LCI-J as we seek to enhance its reputation across the broader community. Getting indexed in SCOPUS will encourage many more academics and industry experts to seek to publish with us because their LCI-J papers will count in the promotion and tenure process as well as achieving wider circulation and citation chances. Special thanks also goes to long-term volunteer editors Katherine Copeland and Alan Mossman who have worked tirelessly with Tariq to ensure the quality and academic rigor of published papers that ultimately helped us achieve this important recognition.

Knowledge Transfer Library Still Available to LCI Members on our Website

Those who attended the LCI annual Congress this year received a copy of the new book, Transforming Design and Construction: A Framework for Change, published this year by LCI. The book contains dozens of brief papers by knowledgeable practitioners (see the “Words of Wisdom” quote in this newsletter for a typical excerpt) developed in two separate, cross-industry brainstorming sessions with experienced Lean experts led by our board vice chairman, Bill Seed. More copies of the book are available for order through the LCI website at https://www.leanconstruction.org/book. Just as important as accessing this information through the book, however, is the need to keep it up-to-date. Please also access the material on the website, which is open to all LCI members, and give us your input and comments on improvements that can be made over time. We hope you will find this material most helpful in supporting training and discussion opportunities by project teams and others. We want to maintain this site as an ongoing, two-way communications opportunity to ensure the state of the art in Lean Design and Construction continues to advance. https://www.leanconstruction.org/learning-laboratory-preview

Access and download photos from the 2015 Congress event!

http://www.fayfoto.com/client/LCI-2015/

Tuesday New Attendee and Welcome Receptions – pages 1-4
Wednesday morning – pages 5-15
Wednesday luncheon – pages 16-18
Wednesday afternoon – pages 18-25
Thursday morning – pages 26-32
Thursday luncheon – pages 32-33
Thursday afternoon – pages 34-43

Upcoming webinars:

Last Planner System™ – Why Should Owners Care?
November 10 - 11:00am – 12:30 pm EST
Christian Pikel, UHS of Delaware

Almost all projects struggle with adherence to schedule and missed commitments. Studies indicate that nearly half the commitments on a typical project aren't met, and this is compounded by project schedules replete with contingency (float) and developed in silos, with minimal or no collaboration. The Last Planner System™ is a tool that puts ownership of the project schedule back in the hands of those closest to the value and asks for accountability within the team. This provides a framework for making reliable commitments, learning from plan failures, and extracting waste from project schedules. Hear from an Owner why we need to pay attention to this technique, insist on its use on our projects, and consider implementing it as a fundamentally different approach to project planning.

Register Here

A Lean Coach's Analysis of Last Planner® Successes and Failures
December 17 – 11:00am - 12:30pm EST
Dan Fauchier, The ReAlignment Group of California LLC

Dan Fauchier will discuss how a dozen or more project teams (design and construction - current and past) have implemented Last Planner System™ (LPS), the triumphs and stumbles, the pitfalls and challenges, on a variety of project types (schools, hospitals, prisons, commercial, residential). He will share case histories, show photos, demonstrate his energetic 15 minute kickoff explanation of LPS (it will give you some ideas on tightly coupling learning with action), give tips on facilitating LPS sessions, and take lots of questions. This session will be very interactive.

Register Here

Community of Practice (CoP) Corner

We hope that everyone had a great Congress and a Happy Halloween. Now it’s time to get back into the swing of things with your local CoP events. If you are not sure if your CoP is having an event or how to get involved, here is a listing of your local CoP Chairs and contact information:

 

CoP Name E-mail
     
Alabama John Gill jgill@ssoe.com
Arizona Bryan Bernardo Bbernardo@kitchell.com
Atlanta (Ga) Webb Embry webb.embry@
bdrpartners.com
Carolinas David Craft Dcraft@rodgersbuilders.com
Cascadia-Portland John Strickland John.Strickland@CH2M.com
Cascadia-Seattle Jack Avery jack.avery@sellen.com
Central Florida Ted Angelo Ted.Angelo@grunau.us
Central Indiana Andrea Sponsel asponsel@hksinc.com
Chicago Rich Seiler rich@unified-works.com
Colorado Charles Rountree charlesrountree@comcast.net
Dallas Fort Worth Mike Kotubey mike.kotubey@
TDIndustries.com
Houston Stewart Trapino strapino@linbeck.com
Kansas City Brooke Coffin brooke.coffin@jedunn.com
Las Vegas Jim Cavaness jcavaness@southlandind.com
Los Angeles/Orange County Kris Manning kris.manning@
clarkconstruction.com
Memphis & Mid-South Patrick Johnston pjohnston@tcco.com
Michigan Chad Stirrett stirrett@ipf.msu.edu
Mid Atlantic Kevin Labrecque kevin.labrecque@
limbachinc.com
Middle Tennessee Kevin Millen kevin_millen@gspnet.com
Nat'l Capital Region Peter Ukstins pukstins@
davisconstruction.com
New England Nick Masci nmasci@haleyaldrich.com
New Mexico Sean Williams swilliams@flintco.com
New York Sam Spata sspata@bergmannpc.com
Northern California Erik Winje ewinje@clarkpacific.com
Ohio Valley Joe Cleves jcleves@dbllaw.com
San Antonio Brandon Gaeke bgaeke@tcco.com
San Diego Sandra LeDrew sledrew@mascariwarner.com
Upper Midwest Eli Mastin Eli.Mastin@mortenson.com

 

View all events

Sincerely,

Dan C. Heinemeier, CAE
Executive Director

Ph: (423) 760-3667 · @: danh@leanconstruction.org

 

As an LCI Congress attendee, you’re invited to see what’s new in healthcare design at the Healthcare Design Expo & Conference!
 
HCD Expo and Conference header

As an LCI Congress attendee, Emerald Expositions would like to introduce you to the Healthcare Design Expo & Conference. The Healthcare Design Expo & Conference is devoted to design of responsibly built environments and their impact on safety, operation, clinical outcomes and the financial success of healthcare facilities both now and into the future. View innovative new products, earn continuing education credits, network, and help influence the future of this industry. Make plans to attend today!

Click here to register and Discover What’s New in Healthcare Design!

 

Lean Construction Institute is located at 1400 North 14th Street, 12th Floor, Arlington, VA 22209
703-387-3000 | info@leanconstruction.org

Like Us on Facebook  Follow Us on Twitter  Connect With Us on LinkedIn

©2014 Lean Construction Institute

We have moved to a different database so we apologize if you are getting this e-mail as an unsubscribed contact. Please click unsubscribe below and you will be taken off of the list.